3 day old chicks itching

Mariosmom

Chirping
Jul 23, 2022
Hello! My silkie chicks are on day 3 after hatch and I noticed this morning that they have started it itch/peck at their back and wings. It’s not constant but definitely noticeable.

I currently only have paper towels in the brooder, no pine shavings, temp under heat lamp is around 95 degrees and am feeding them Dumor starter, not medicated. I’m at a loss for what could be the cause… I dont know how they would have gotten mites or lice. Should I be concerned or what would you recommend to help alleviate their discomfort?

This is my first time with chickens so any advice is appreciated!

Attachments

• 8E5E435F-72BB-4ADD-8D2C-2FEC6318EC91.jpeg
    8E5E435F-72BB-4ADD-8D2C-2FEC6318EC91.jpeg
    357.5 KB · Views: 52
Sounds like preening, which is normal.
Thank you! Another term I was not familiar with and after googling, preening is exactly what it looks like. I also noticed some new growth on their wings… pricklier than their fluff. That’s not feathers, right? I thought that could also be itchy for them.

Thank you! Another term I was not familiar with and after googling, preening is exactly what it looks like. I also noticed some new growth on their wings… pricklier than their fluff. That’s not feathers, right? I thought that could also be itchy for them.
Yes those are feathers. Here's a fluffy butt with new feathers. They look like sticks and then the feathers are poking out. Chicks generate alot of dust.

Attachments

• PXL_20220717_180222610.jpg
    PXL_20220717_180222610.jpg
    491.6 KB · Views: 16
  • PXL_20220717_180239420.jpg
    PXL_20220717_180239420.jpg
    532.5 KB · Views: 11
Those are feather growths/pin feathers, or their first flight feathers growing in.
20220603_163920.jpg

Yes those are feathers. Here's a fluffy butt with new feathers. They look like sticks and then the feathers are poking out. Chicks generate alot of dust.