Hen caught by fox - alive but has a neck injury. Any hope?

JulieSHDK

Hatching
Apr 22, 2024
Denmark
Hi, I'm new to keeping chickens and I got my first pair this summer.

The fox has been here twice now and the first two are no longer. It's sad and a bit discouraging, but at least the fox took them away. My problem is the one he left behind. I caught him yesterday with my brown italian's neck in his mouth. He spit her out, when he saw me and ran away.

She was still alive, but in a bad way. Clearly in shock, but also unable to fully control her head and body. She drinks but only if we support her head. Not interested in food. She can sort of sit on her legs and have her head in a normal position, but if she leans forward her head topples over and hit the ground if she too near. She raises herself sometimes and her head sort of just dangles above the ground. She can shake it and a few times she was able to "set" it in the right place and look normal.

There are no open wounds or broken legs. Only trace of the fox are two small puncture wounds on the back of the neck. And a lot of lost feathers.

It seems like there is a lot of pain and I'm trying aspirin at the moment and the breathing now is better.

Is there any hope of her recovering or are we just dragging out the pain until the inevitable conclusion?

Attachments

• Screenshot 2024-04-22 at 10.38.58.png
    Screenshot 2024-04-22 at 10.38.58.png
    3.3 MB · Views: 63
  • att.KaA4BPNYGkzPOKYpIHFCYmGNj9GliQfJcGETKIGtkQY.jpg
    att.KaA4BPNYGkzPOKYpIHFCYmGNj9GliQfJcGETKIGtkQY.jpg
    138.8 KB · Views: 24
  • att.IuYRKWN6MR46OD-NlZU2GMg5GSOJvvc6GFvCHSrjZDo.jpg
    att.IuYRKWN6MR46OD-NlZU2GMg5GSOJvvc6GFvCHSrjZDo.jpg
    132.5 KB · Views: 23
Last edited: