What should I feed my chickens

coolchange

In the Brooder
12 Years
Jan 26, 2007
I am brand new to raising chickens. I have gotten 4 hens that are between 2-3 months old. I am wondering what to feed them when they start laying eggs. I am currently feeding them #3 scratch. I have read many conflicting articles on what to feed them. We are raising them for eggs only. Also how about crushed oyster? Should I have that mixed in there food, in a seperate feeder? Also should I be feeding them crushed oysters now or wait until they start laying. Thanks in advance for any responses, I need and appreciate all the advice.

Welcome to the new and improved BYC forum! We hope you'll enjoy and come back often!

As for your birds, at that age they are still chicks and should be on a good chick starter. Then when they're 18-20 weeks old switch them over to layer pellets. You won't need the oyster shell until then and I give mine in a different feeder. They should not be fed scratch until they are adults and then only as an occasional treat. Scratch is like candy and kids, once in a while won't hurt but you don't want them on it all the time. Enjoy your birds, they are a wonderful addiction.
tongue.png

teapot.gif