Rooster helping hen rise to top of pecking order; allowing her to bully others?

Cinnaminute

Songster
Aug 19, 2022
Georgia, USA
Hi, I'm new to having roosters. Honestly, new to chickens. June marks the 2 year mark since I got my first 6 EE hens. And by June I'll have had my 2 roosters for 1 year. I'm still learning so much.

There's a behavior I've been seeing from one of my two roosters, Truffles. I officially added him to the his flock back in December after a long period of safe no-touch introduction. I understand he's been working on establishing his leadership in the flock. But he's allowing his favorite hen, Hazel, to bully other hens and seems to even be promoting it. He mates a hen and remains standing on her while Hazel pecks her. However, there are no injuries besides some missing feathers. But this has just recently caused the latest pecking order victim to avoid eating and I've had to intervene to make sure she got food.

Truffles and Hazel grew up together. They are the youngest in the flock, being only 11 months old. The other 9 hens in the flock consisted of my 6 EEs who are almost 2 years old, 1 RIR who is 1 year 2 months, and 2 Leghorns that are 1 year 2 months.

My other rooster was integrated into his flock in a very similar manner. He and two Polish hens added to an older flock of 6 hens. The tiny Polish he favors. Maybe its her size, but she never gave anyone trouble except the rooster himself. She bosses him around a lot.

Anyway, head hen Zelda accepted Truffles, so she'd squat for him and Hazel let her be because nobody messed with Zelda.

However, when my RIR Marcy accepted him, I found that Hazel would charge in while he mated Marcy and peck her in the face while she was down. Truffles did nothing to stop it. After a few weeks, this stopped. I suspect Hazel rose in pecking order over Marcy. Marcy has always been very friendly and easy-going so I see why she was the first target.