Egg pushed out of nest

gemmat820

In the Brooder
Jun 29, 2024
I'm going to start by admitting I'm a newbie and 90% of what I've learned, I've learned from google, which I know isn't always the best way.

I have had a broody hen since the beginning of May and have only recently gotten the hang of candling. We never planned to breed chicks but I noticed a change in her patterns after we ended up with two roosters in our flock. We have identified about seven eggs as fertile and have begun removing all additional eggs aside from the original brood since we are too inexperienced to try and handle multiple broods at this time.

Today we went out to check in early afternoon like we usually do, and I found an egg that was pushed out of the nest and cracked. There was a bird that was moving inside, and I tried to see what I could do but she died before I could figure out what to do next. She still has six eggs. For the meantime I've arranged to have her remaining eggs moved to an incubator at my neighbor's house.

My question might be common knowledge to a lot of you but google is struggling with what I'm trying to say. Did she push the egg out because she knew something was wrong? Is this a normal occurrence? Also the rooster keeps attacking me to the point where my husband has to come out with me now when I'm collecting eggs. Is this normal behavior?

Sorry for my inexperience and I appreciate any answers you guys have to offer.

The egg getting pushed out might have been due to her inexperience. Hopefully next time she'll be more careful. As for the rooster, he needs to be turned into soup. Behavior modification rarely works for roosters and even if it does, human aggression is genetic so if he's human aggressive you're more likely to have issues out of his children. The best way to get a good rooster is to not put up with a bad one. Many roosters won't turn out, but you'll never get a good one if you keep a bad one