how and when to transition baby chicks into new coop

farmdreamer18

In the Brooder
Jul 1, 2024
Hi, I really need advice on this one, so thank you in advance for reading this, I welcome your responses.
I have 5 sweet Wyandotte baby hens. They will be 5 weeks old on Tuesday. (I have no experience raising anything other than human children and grandchildren). I had them in a large wash bin with a light initially and then graduated them to a large rubbermaid container and recently I added a piece of wood across the top for a roost and a garden mesh frame for height and to keep them from hoping or flying around my family room.
Most days (not when its raining, I live in Chicago, and we have had some rain lately) I put them in a mesh run (about 4x8x4 feet). It's on new sod that is around 4 weeks old. I alternate that run with a coop/run I bought and put together on the grass across from the mesh run. (Sentinel Chicken Coop) 36"x75" run with a coop and nesting boxes above the run. Hardware cloth under the sod the coop is sitting on and reinforced up the sides of the run.
When they are in my house in the rubbermaid, they love the roost and even began sleeping on it the past few days. I made a ramp for them to reach it. When they are in the Sentinel they only go up till the second steep, and don't go in the coop part at all. Once I put a few of them in from the side entrance and they quickly made their way back to the coop part.