Pullet laying on roosting bar but trying nesting box all day

MDieckmeyer

In the Brooder
Jul 4, 2024
I’m new to raising chickens, so I don’t know much. I have 6 chickens, all different breeds. One of my pullets is laying from the roosting bar at night. They are tissue paper thin eggs with a detached thicker but still soft shell. She laid her first 2 eggs like that, then laid one solid egg, and this morning I found another the weird egg. I’ve read it’s normal for the first eggs to be soft, but should I be concerned since she reverted back after laying a solid one? Since she’s only my second pullet to lay, they are still on starter crumbles. I have oyster shell available in the coop. The other question I have is I’m not 100% sure which one is doing it. My guess is my Olive Egger. She spends a lot of time in the nesting boxes during the day, about 30-45 min at a time, and she comes out singing her egg song, but no egg yet. So I assume it’s her. But I also have a Cream Legbar, but I’ve never seen her in the nesting boxes. I honestly can’t tell if the egg looks more green or blue though. But is it normal for a hen to sit in the nesting boxes for that long and still lay from the roosting bar?

I’ve read it’s normal for the first eggs to be soft, but should I be concerned since she reverted back after laying a solid one?
I'd be concerned enough to be offering her 550-650mg of calcium citrate with D for a week.
But is it normal for a hen to sit in the nesting boxes for that long and still lay from the roosting bar?
Yes. It is difficult to push out a shell-less or soft shelled egg. Without the hard shell to push against the membrane just gives so they strain much harder to expel it from their bodies.