Roosters

ChickTN2016

In the Brooder
Jun 19, 2024
Hi all,
I have been doing chickens for 8 yrs and have learned soooo much about them and the different things they get so on & so forth. I started with one rooster and I still have him and he is now about 7.5 -8 yrs old. His name is Sir Doodle(Barred Rock) He is definitely slowing down and I have had him to the vet 2x now for his bumblefoot. I believe we have it out now. But I swore I would NEVER have another rooster. Sir Doodle was somewhat aggressive towards us about his first 3 yrs then he tamed down alot and now is such a good boy. But last year I thought I was going to lose him at a time when a friend of mine mistakenly wound up with too many lavender orpington roo's. I did some research and read how the roosters are so gentle and non aggressive. So I agreed to take 1. HUGE mistake and a lie. His name is Alfredo and he is meaner and worse than Sir Doodle ever was. I really dislike him. He is very beautiful though. I gave him his own harem. lol. Then I had someone approach me wanting my fertilized eggs and they would do the incubating of the eggs and gave me 16 chicks. Ok, so now I have 9 5 month old roo's. I don't know what to do with them. They are getting to where when I let them out (by themselves) to free range they are starting to want to come after me and they do quite a bit of squabbling amongst themselves. I have been pinning them down to the ground when they come after me to let them know who is boss, I used to do that to their father Alfredo(but I can't do it to him now because I am afraid of him hurting me trying to get him to pin him down. Finally, I will get to the point... Sorry for the long post. I need to know y'alls opinion or experiences with batchelor pens for roosters and if they are successful or not? If they do not have access to hens will they still be aggressive? I love all animals and don't want to see any treated inhumanely. I would take these and sell them at an auction but I know that