Duckling Egg In Lockdown But Air Sac Turning Black

marxrab

Chirping
Mar 24, 2020
Hi there. This is my first time posting here so I hope I'm doing this correctly. So here is my problem...

I have one dozen duckling eggs in my incubator right now. I put them in lockdown on the start of day 26 and today is day 27. Two pipped last night and two more pipped this morning. The reason for this post is I have a fifth one that is noticeably black where it's air sac should be. I thought it was dead so I pulled it and candled it. I was surprised to see movement inside and a little beak in the air sac. Candled the air sac appears yellow and red and black around the edges of the air sac. Does anyone know what's going on and why it would be changing colors? Is something wrong with the air sac and I need to worry about it suffocating? At what point should I feel like I should help it by puncturing a hole? Pictures below.

I don't know if this is relevant but I'll give more details. The two eggs with the most progress appear shrink wrapped even though it was in lockdown and I didn't open the lid except for a few seconds to remove the one egg and to warm mist inside through a small opening. I made the mistake of buying a non-brand name cheaper Chinese incubator off of ebay and humidity has been my biggest struggle. I can never get it above 76%. All I can do is spray warm water every few hours. I had four other eggs successfully hatch last week but they also shrink wrapped and I had to assist getting them out. They are happy and healthy a week later. The two shrink wrapped eggs I know exactly how to help them. I wet their openings and membrane with a q-tip and will monitor them to see if they need help down the line. Right now they are far from ready to hatch and will probably need another 12 to 24 hours.