Introduction

PnppleUpsdDwnChk

In the Brooder
Mar 24, 2024
West Virginia
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens?
I am very new to chickens. I only help take care of them but i am the primary caregiver of the physical chickens, my parents just look at them and buy the stuff for them (they are irresponsible but I try my best and live at home and am planning to stay living at home so i just take care of them as i have grown a passion/love for them. I just got any poultry almost a year ago, 4 guinea fowl 1 passed and all 3 ran away eventually. During that my uncle gave us a male and female oeg bantams and the rooster passed but the girl is strong and happy. We got lucky and someone was selling their flock of 6 bantams.
(2) How many chickens do you have right now?
Currently we have 7 but the single oegb fem is alone as the other 6 were already a flock before and we rehomed them from a subpar farm so they are stressed rn so we are waiting to introduce her to the flock. ( 1 rooster 5 hens)
(3) What breeds do you have?
Im not 100% positive actually I dont really deal with everything as i wish i could (im 20) but with research im almost positive the single hen is a oeg bantam, the rooster in the flock of 6 MAY be a oegb as well but hes much bigger than my first original oegb rooster. I think the 5 hens are Cream legbars but they have no fluff. Exact colorings though
(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
Watching them. They genuinely put a smile on my face and make me laugh and I want to see them happy and exploring the yard
(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
I am researching gardening homesteading and just overall being mostly sustainable on your own. I have yet to make these a reality as i am very young and in college
(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.