Raising Chickens in New England in Winter

3rocksandme

Chirping
9 Years
Jul 23, 2010
Brookline, NH
Good morning!

I am new to chickens, I have read quite a bit but I haven't seen much on winterizing. I have cold hardy birds but I am not sure how to handle them in winter. Are there any special precautions I should take? Are chickens supposed to spend the winter in the coop or do they do outside in the snow?

you can let them out on bright days.A incandescant bulb in the coop should br warm enough on cold days.Although it is all according to size of coop and amount of chickens.Mine huddle together to keep warm in NW ohio.Also beware of predators with dark chickens against the snow.

Our chickens have been through 3 NE winters now and all survived! They will venture out in the snow if you have a covered run or shovel for them- they just have a hard time getting around in anything more than a couple of inches. I will throw goodies out into shallow snow and they will dig around. Roosts should be wide and flat, so toes can be covered completely by feathers when they hunker down. If they are too small, you can lose toes to frost bite. On occasion, combs and wattles will get small amounts of frost bite, but usually recover just fine. Insulation is not required, but many people have good results. I will use additional light on automatic timers (14 hours total light including sunshine) to keep egg production up, but you will find many arguments against that on this site. I have had no issuses doing so. You will also find many people will feed a cracked corn or black oil sunflower seeds to help "warm them up before bed" but it has not be scientifically proven to make any change. Don't forget ventilations is still very important! Just be sure there are no drafts onto where they roost at night.
I'm sure I forgot something but I hope this helps!