Chick in brooder has sores from other chick pecking at it

ahchick1

Songster
9 Years
May 2, 2010
Duvall
Hi, I'm new to this forum. Just picked up 6 chicks (2 Golden Sex Links, 2 Americauna, 2 Buff Orpington) a few days ago and have them in a brooder (medium sized wooden box). I am totally new to the chicken world. All seems to be going well, except I noticed one of the Buff's has some sores from other chicks pecking at it (mostly a Golden Sex Link picking on it, even though it is a bit smaller). How/do I treat it? Any advice? Do I separate them? I'm setting up a larger brooder today in hopes that'll help...

Thanks!!
Amy

im pretty new as well but this site has helped me loads so ill se if i can give back. firstly i woud sugest seperating her if you have the equipment to do it properly. i have heard that putting vics on the wounds will discourage the others from continueing to peck at it, theres another product i cant remember...blue something i think, that some folks swear by. maybe some electrolytes in the water and something with a bit more protien couldnt hurt either...all my little ones LOVE hard boiled egg yolk. yogurt is good too. hope this helps, and that maybe someone with a bit more experience can get on and either yay or nay any of my suggestions.

some pics would definatly help if possible

Last edited:
I'm new too and FAR from an expert, but my thought is that I would separate the picked on one, but throw a buddy or two in (ones that don't pick on her obviously), so she won't be lonely. Good luck!

Cover the sores with Blu Kote. I think you can get it at most vet supply stores. Wear gloves when you spray it. Also, you can keep the chick away from the others while it heals.