Donkey vs. Llama for guarding livestock???

jkl79

In the Brooder
11 Years
Apr 5, 2008
Central TX
I'm new at all this - help!!

My husband and I recently bought 15 acres that we'll be slowly shaping into a farm. Our first task is to mend fences before purchasing a small flock of goats to help remove the brush and work towards an ag exemption. Being in central TX, we have a major problem with coyote. Everyone seems to have a different opinion about the best type of guard animal - donkey vs. llama. What have your experiences been with this? Also, have you had problems feeding the livestock (goats and sheep) while having the donkey and llama around? Can they all eat the same feed?

Any advice, stories, insight is greatly appreciated!

Well I have a donkey and wont put him in with my goats as he wants to chase them.Another thing is when they start kidding the donkey will think the new babies are predators. I have heard of many problems with donkeys. Some say its the male donkeys that will do this worse but some have had better luck than others. Dont know wbout Llamas. I have large guard dogs and they seem to bond better with goats. I have Great Pyr/Anatilians with mine and they love the goats.

one of my good friends has two llamas. and a bunch of goats he has never had any problems. i was thinking about getting a couple of goats. i will have to watch this post.

Our neighbor has 20 goats and 3 llamas. They have had no more problems with the coyotes since getting the llamas. But one thing to watch out for. They are going to get the baby boy who is now 6 mos old (llama) fixed because they do get very rowdy and try and mount everything including people!!
lol.png

The donkey they had, had to be kept separate from the goats as he chased them all the time.

Last edited: