Pics

RUNuts

Smiling. I'm up to something.
7 Years
May 19, 2017
Swamps of Texas
BBD446B1-9FB4-49ED-959B-A9D830682A9D.jpeg
E97C3FE1-4C20-4C05-817B-F36B2A18728A.jpeg
Since I am new at chickens and hatching, I asked Chicken Rancher at work for a mess of fertile eggs. The 8 put under the broody last year gave 4 infertile. 2 killed by hen and 2 hatchings. Resulting in 1 pullet and 1 cockerel. The hen is happily laying small brown eggs almost daily. She looks like a Black Australorp with a Dominique comb. Unique.

So based on this and my research of chicken math, my goal is 5 new layers. Having a stated goal is important, I tell the kids this.
Expect 50% pullets, so set at least 10 eggs.
Expect 50% infertile based on last years results which are probably invalid, but it is a start. Therefore, set 20 eggs.
Expect 50% somethings because this is my first go with chicken eggs, ergo set 40 eggs.

Since the HovaBator holds 42, this is a good assumption. Someone check my chicken math to make sure I'm doing this correctly. :p

Out of the 40 eggs delivered today, 3 are white. He has a few Leghorns, technically Ideal 236. A few are small and light brown, so call these Dominique descent. Cute petite to small eggs. Medium browns are Australorp descent. Large browns may be sexlink. The dominant rooster is a Dominique descent mixture. Don't remember what he said the other 2 roosters look like. Chicken Rancher likes a mixed flock. Looking forward to being surprised. Today is day 0. Chicks on May 22.

Ran the incubator dry for the week before eggs. Humidity ran 25-30%. Outside is 80% and inside with the AC is 70%. January's quail hatching had water in one tray and kept it at 45%. Same tray with water is 50-55%. A little high. Thinking about letting it dry out. The tray with water is the center one in the Hovabator 1588n.