Duck survived raccoon attack but is hurt, help pls?

EyeCandyQuilts

In the Brooder
5 Years
Jul 13, 2014
Poland, Ohio
We recently took in 2 baby ducks, about 3 months ago or so. They are now about 5 or 6 months old. Last night, a raccoon managed its way into their pen. We found one of our ducks didnt make it but the one that did has a half dollar size bite taken from her back :( shes walking but it is now morning and she didnt eat or drink anything I put for her. We brought her in the house and was hoping after the shock of losing her mate and the attack itself goes away that shed be ok but shes not acting like herself and hasnt eaten. Is this something she wont recover from? I dont want to loose her but hate to see her suffer. She looks hurt, scared and isnt doing her reg behaviors, etc. I am new to owning ducks and it is harder since we rescued them and nursed them to health. They were getting so big and the male was turning such a pretty emerald green, just growing up healthy! Then this :( any help would be great. I also dont want our kids to see that she made it only to die anyway..... do they heal well?

Sorry for your situation. I have pekin and California blue muscovy ducks and gratefully no ducks have been injured, Wait one of the ducklings got in by the muscovy duck with a brood of her own and she grabbed the duckling around the neck, back, and wing. The duckling had wounds and bumps all over it from the muscovy, it was hard to look at. We brought it and the 4 other ducklings into the house for warmth and security. The duckling died that night. It was a very sad day. Sorry I can't be of any help, I doubt my one experience gives me any credibility. Best of luck.

Aww poor babe, so sad to hear it died :( I am thankful for your reply, knowing Im not alone, ya know? I just so worried about her. She still hasnt eaten but she did finally quack a minute ago. She hasn't made a peep since we brought her inside.
Thank you!