KT-Farms Intro ! AND NEED HELP!

kt-farm

In the Brooder
Jun 15, 2020
(1) Are you new to chickens / when did you first get chickens? Yes, I am relatively new at this. I bought a new home that came with 5 hens (already 5 years old). A year later, I rescued 5 hens. AND LAST YEAR I built a chicken palace and bought 18 chicks!

(2) How many chickens do you have right now?

(3) What breeds do you have?

These are all 1 yr old:
4 Golden Prides,
4 Black Sexlinks,
4 Blue Sapphire Plymouth Rocks,
1 Black Sexlink that turned out to be a ROOSTER!!!

One 3yr old Aquila,
One 9yr old Rhode Island Red,
One 7yr old Ameraucana

(4) What are your favorite aspects of raising backyard chickens?
OMG... the eggs have flavor and I know what they've been fed!

(5) What are some of your other hobbies?
Animal rescue... currently have two soldier dog rescues from Afghanistan, and one from Italy.

(6) Tell us about your family, your other pets, your occupation, or anything else you'd like to share.
We have 5 acres that I have cleared 3 of (so now a 2 acre pasture, complete with sprinkler and trough system), built a barn, chicken coop that my neighbors call the "chicken palace", a 1/2 acre of raised garden beds full of herbs and veggies (I donate 500 to 700 pounds of produce to our local food bank every summer). Needless to say, I have been VERY busy for the last 4 years! and lovin it!

(7) Bonus: How did you find BYC, how long have you known about BYC, and what made you finally join our awesome community?
I found BYC online during my first year of having chickens! The forums really helped me get setup and a little more knowledge that I needed to get started. I am always checking to see if I'm doing things right! I can't tell you how helpful this community forum is... THANK YOU!

Attachments

• IMG_4023[1].JPG
    IMG_4023[1].JPG
    948.7 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_1174[1].JPG
    IMG_1174[1].JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 8
  • IMG_1680[1].JPG
    IMG_1680[1].JPG
    687.7 KB · Views: 9