My chicks poop in their water and food. What to do?

rod5591

Songster
6 Years
Oct 15, 2017
Cookeville TN
I am new to chickens. I just retired and now I am raising 22 chicks: 4 Rhode Island Reds 4 Plymouth black bars, 6 Delawares and 8 Rhode Island Red/ Plymouth black bar hybrids. They are two weeks old. I am in Tennessee and it is too cold for the chicks to go outside.

I have the chicks divided into two plastic tubs. 8 chicks in the smaller tub and 14 chicks in the larger tub. Each tub has a plastic waterer and feeder. See photos
IMG_0527.jpg
IMG_0530.jpg
IMG_0530.jpg

The chicks poop in their feed and water all the time. Is this dangerous for their health? I sure grosses me out. I change out the water once or twice a day. For the feed, I remove the poop and wood shavings once a day and refill with fresh food (chick starter feed from the Farmers Co-op).

Is there a better way? Any suggestions would be appreciated

I think they are pooping in the water and feed because there isn't enough room. They have no place to go away from the feed or water and jump around or play. I always suggest boxes and keep adding boxes together as they get bigger but only because it worked for me.

Just a general question that came to mind that maybe someone can answer. If you keep them separate and when it come times to put them together outside, will they do ok or will they need to be introduced to each other before combing them????

X2... those bins are way too small for the number of chicks. In a small space like that they don't have a lot of choices on where to poop, although chickens in general will go anywhere. I would suggest a larger brood box for both. If water continues to pose a problem for you this would be a good time to introduce a hanging nipple waterer . In a confined area you may also begin to notice unwanted behavior. Adult chickens and chicks alike need space.
Good luck with your new flock!!