What size of coop for 8-10 hens?

Two or three boxes is plenty, as they love to share.

As for size, as big as you can realistically make it, and afford to make it. A week or three being "cooped up" with a foot or two of snow leads to horrid boredom. Whatever size you "think" you'd make it, add a few feet in length. Seriously.

Oh, and enjoy!

I am not an expert and I am sure that someone else will chime in, but I am pretty sure its 4 sq ft per bird and 1 nest box per 2 birds.

E

all the advice you'll get here will say figure 4 sq ft per girl. you only need 1 nest box for every 4 girls, so you're looking 32 to 40 sq feet, 2 or 3 nest boxes

Going with your higher number, I'd recommend a 6x8 housing (and really, an 8x8 would cost about the same, and would give extra room in case chicken math ever hits) and a minimum of a 100 sq. ft. run, unless you're pretty much a total free-ranger. With 10 hens, I'd opt for 3 - 4 nest boxes.

I notice you have an incubatoir. Don't build for the minimum number of chickens. That would be a mistake.

The rule of thumb is one nest for every four hens. Most will lay in the same one, but there have been times when an extra one comes in handy, if you have broody, for instance. For 8 to 10 hens, I'd build 3.

The rule of thumb on here is a MINIMUM of 4 square feet per chicken in the coop and 10 square feet per chicken in the run. There are a lot of different things that go into these numbers. Some people get by with less, but some people try less and run into trouble. If chickens are too crowded, they can become cannibals. That's why a lot of commercial operations that really crowd their laying hens automatically trim their top beaks so they don't eat each other.