Do my chickens drink enough water?

RawhideChicks

In the Brooder
Aug 30, 2016
I have 8 hens (15 weeks old). They use a nipple waterer and I know they drink from it -- I seem them do it all the time. My concern is that it doesn't seem like they are drinking anywhere near the 16 oz per day per bird that I've seen as a requirement. They are very healthy and show no signs of distress or dehydration. This is not a new thing. Should I worry if they are drinking apparently what it is they need even if it's not what I see as the required amount? Can you tell I am new to this :)

Quote:
I think your water requirement for pullets of that age is high. According to the Poultry CRC in Australia, a pullet that age needs around 5-6 ounces of water per day.

That said if they are healthy, free of stress, and clean water is always provided... I wouldn't worry about it.

[COLOR=333333]I have 8 hens (15 weeks old). They use a nipple waterer and I know they drink from it -- I seem them do it all the time. My concern is that it doesn't seem like they are drinking anywhere near the 16 oz per day per bird that I've seen as a requirement. They are very healthy and show no signs of distress or dehydration. This is not a new thing.  Should I worry if they are drinking apparently what it is they need even if it's not what I see as the required amount? Can you tell I am new to this :[/COLOR]

I think your water requirement for pullets of that age is high.  According to the Poultry CRC in Australia, a pullet that age needs around 5-6 ounces of water per day.

That said if they are healthy, free of stress, and clean water is always provided... I wouldn't worry about it.

Welcome to BYC!

-Kathy

Non laying birds should drink no less than 5% of their body weight per day.
Laying hens 13%
Growing chickens might drink up to 20%

If they aren't drinking 5% per day then that might be a problem.

-Kathy

Non laying birds should drink no less than 5% of their body weight per day.
Laying hens 13%