First time letting my chickens free range. HELP!

Montgirl

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jun 7, 2013
Hi Everyone! Newbie here! My chickens are all about 15 weeks, and they have a big coop/Run but after reading so much on BYC I decided I would let them free range for a few hours each day (I would love to give them more time but my dogs are crated while the girls enjoy the day) Sooooo, I just opened up the coop and let them out! I'm a nervous wreck, will they stay close? How can I get them back in? It's a beautiful day here in southern Ca and we are on 10 fenced in acres. Nervous newbie here! Any advice for me?

somehow the chickens always just know to stay close- ive had mine free range on a 2 acre lot- and there are no fences- they never stray- they never cross the road, they never go into the neighbors yard or garden, and they never- well i wont say never- they RARELY dont go into the coop on their own at night. If something has spooked them, they try to roost in the carport for the evening, and i have to carry them home.. lol
Something as big as 10 acres, my parents always had a hearding dog- or if you have a rooster, that fella knows how to get his chicks in for the night!
im anxious to see what kinds of answers you get- i would love to learn some large free ranging secrets! :)

They will always come back if you wave a piece of bread and call them. I find my chickens pretty much only go where people go and no farther.

Hello! We free range our flocks too. Usually they'll stick around their pens, but if they get a bit too far away we usually take some treats out to them and give the bowl a little shake so they'll come running back. Also, you might want to get a net or something to help herd them back into the pen on those days when it's too nice outside or they're just feeling a little rebellious. Hope I could help and have fun free ranging!