My duck is terrified of me, what do i do?

theduck man

Hatching
7 Years
Jul 10, 2012
I just bought about a 4 week old female rouen duck and i built a 16x6 pen with a 4x3 house about 2 feet off the ground and a little kiddie pool and i plan to buy another one soon. Each time I go to get her to hold her she runs all over the place and hollars and when i finally get her she just squirms around and hollars even louder but after a while she calms down but when someone goes to pet her she squirms around more and then calms down again after a while......then i let her go again in the cage......i heard someone say if i hold her everyday for a while she will get used to people......i dont know if that is completely true or not but I need some more advice, i'm new to owning ducks........it might be that she's lonely and needs more ducks to play with.

It takes quite awhile to tame a duck down, but it is best if you can start when they are just hatched.
Hold her everyday, not too long, and also maybe just spend time in her pen, just sitting and watching her, so she knows you aren't going to hurt her.
You should also learn to hold her right. If she is a big Rouen, then it might be hard. http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_you_hold_a_chicken
I know it says chicken, but it the same thing for a duck.

I've had my rouen for almost a month now. He's still terrified of me. I try to hold him everyday and he just squirms and squirms. I also have two runners that do not mind being held as much, and my chickens all like to be held for the most part. But I cannot get the rouen to like me. Of course he's the one I wish liked me the most! I try to hold him all the time. :) I'm sure in time he will get used to it. But...since you mention it's your rouen, I wonder if they are notoriously more difficult to tame than other ducks.....?