Coturnix Quail - Color Identification Help? (Lots of pictures!)

CiaBia

Songster
Feb 12, 2018
Miami, Florida
To start, I am very new to quail so apologies for any mistakes in advance! I have been raising chickens for years and just recently hatched my first quail. I am OBSESSED :love. I am very much confused on the proper identification of their colors though, and since I intend to breed these little ones I would love to be able to refer to them correctly (and be able to choose the best pairings for what I have).

All these babies were purchased as Celadon blue coturnix quail eggs from several different pens separated by color. The seller raises most of the 'common' varieties as well as pastels: light pastel, dark pastel, silver, buff, and sexable pastel wild pattern (typed as listed, not sure if those are all true varieties). They hatched on December 22 and are 3 weeks old in the photos.

I would LOVE any and all imput you may have on what colors these babies are and possibly even gender if it's a sexable color variety. Any suggestions for breeding pairs/ trios would much appreciated as well (roughly of course since I don't know genders yet). Thank you all in advance!

P1.jpg P2.jpg P3.jpg

#2 wild typ-ish
L1.jpg L2.jpg

B1.jpg B2.jpg B3.jpg

#4 regular wild type, or lighter? :idunno
W1.jpg W2.jpg

#5 Silver?
S1.jpg S2.jpg S3.jpg S4.jpg

C1.jpg C2.jpg C3.jpg

Attachments

• C4.jpg
    C4.jpg
    555.6 KB · Views: 25
Last edited:
Welcome to quail.
I am afraid that if the seller keeps birds/colors mixed up than your babies aren't going to be a "real" color but instead mixes.

Can you ask the seller for pictures of the parent birds and post them too?

Welcome to quail.
I am afraid that if the seller keeps birds/colors mixed up than your babies aren't going to be a "real" color but instead mixes.

Can you ask the seller for pictures of the parent birds and post them too?