Impacted crop vs very full crop please help!

EMcKenzie

Hatching
6 Years
Jun 5, 2013
Louisville, KY
Hi everyone, thank you in advance for your help this is my first time with chickens and I'm still learning! I've read through most of the posts on here about impacted crops but I'm not sure if my hen Pearl has one or if she just has a what is a 'normal' full crop.

She is an almost 7 month old silver laced Wyandotte who just started laying about two weeks ago. Since then I've noticed that she's been eating more and two days ago I noticed her crop for the first time. It was about the size of a plum and felt like those squishy, bean filled stress balls. I could feel what felt like individual pieces of their food and grit inside of it. I checked my Easter egger and her crop had the same consistency but was smaller and less tense. It was almost sunset so I let her be and came inside to read on here.

The next morning it had decreased in size but was still present. I brought her inside so I could monitor her intake and output and gave her water and yogurt. She had a few runny droppings and some normal droppings during the time and was drinking and eating. By noon the day after I first noticed it, her crop was flat so I let her rejoin the flock. By bedtime it was again full, with the same consistency. It was not tender and she didn't seem to mind my checking it or massaging it. I let her roost with the flock again and the this morning I checked her early (5:30) before I went to work and it was again decreased in size but still present, maybe the size of peach pit (I'm working on fruit comparisons today I guess!). Besides being upset with me for waking her she was fine and had several droppings below her spot on the roost.

I let her be and by the time I got home it was full again but she's been acting normally and still has a great appetite. I've watched her eat, drink, and take grit and oyster shell. She laid an egg both yesterday and today.