Sick 1.5 week old chicks

rikkiv13

In the Brooder
Mar 2, 2023
Hello, I am very new to chicken keeping and orginally started out with an olive egger, Silkie, and BBS ameracuna (2/4). Well the silkie at 1.5 weeks old got sick, like crackling/rales, congestion and sneezing. I wasnt sure what to do so I contacted the breeder and she suggested I treat for coccidosis. I treated all of them at the same time as well as gave them vetrx. I also set up a fan to blow air out of the brooder, only used puppy pads with paper towels, and kept the space clean and dry at all times. I was feeding them medicated feed but switched to non-medicated once I got all the new chicks because I thought it was the feed. Keep in mind they were all eating and drinking normally. Poops were normal except for the occasional peanut butter looking one for which I looked it up and saw it was a cecal poop.

Fast forward 1 week and I got 3 more baby chicks (2/17). 1 red laced wyandotte, 1 BBS orpington, and 1 BCM. I kept them all separated in different brooders for a week and treated them all with corrid. My silkie and the ameracuna got better with no raspy sounds or sneezing or anyting. The other baby chicks were not showing signs of being sick or anyting.

We moved them all together on the night of 2/24 in the same "playpen" they were all acting normal and running around getting to know each other everuthing was fine. I woke up that saturday and my silkie had passed in her sleep, we dont know the cause, and the ameracuna was not acting right. I immediately took her out and gave her some honey water which did nothing and put her in her own brooder away from everyone. Later that afternoon she passed.