What is your experience with feeding Diatomaceous Earth to your chickens?

farlo4

Chirping
5 Years
Mar 13, 2014
I have the food safe Diatomaceous Earth that I feed to my horses. I absolutely LOVE this stuff. The summer before I fed it to them, there were so many flies that they covered my horse's muzzle even with a fly mask on. The summer after I started feeding it, the flies were there but there were so little that my horse didn't even need a fly mask. My horses also have shiny coats, and I haven't had worm problems. I SWEAR by this stuff for my horses, but I'm wondering how it would do with my chickens? I just got 6 new chicks - they are about 2 weeks old now. This is my first time owning chickens, so it's been an adventure to say the least. What is your experience with feeding D.E. to your chickens? Is it better for mature chickens then for chicks? Have you noticed it prevent worms and flies? Is it bad for chickens? Please let me know :) Thanks in advance!

I use food grade DE for everything. In their food. In their DB even directly on them. I mix the DE with sweet PDZ in the coop all over. I throw in some sevrn dust and all is fine.

Hello and
welcome-byc.gif

D.E. is great stuff and if you've got the grade that works on horses that will also work on chickens.

Newly hatched chicks, up to a month or two old, won't have adult worms in them and I think you could safely wait until that long to add it to their diet, but asides from that, chickens are fine with D.E. I haven't heard of it harming chicks and if it was harmful to small animals, there wouldn't be any small native animals in the regions where D.E. naturally occurs.

Many people get a poor quality grade and complain it doesn't work. Not all D.E.s are equal. Fresh raw garlic from hatching onwards will take care of disease and parasites in chicks and also works wonders for adults.