Attn: Flemish Rabbit - Why Pedigree??

SportTees

Songster
11 Years
Aug 17, 2008
Southern Middle Tennessee
frow.gif
I have the chance to get a Flemish Rabbit ( my first) with or without a pedigree. The pedigree price is more and I want to know why. Why would you need a pedigree for a rabbit? Also, Can I put the rabbit on the ground in a dog run or will it dig out? I'm Completely new to rabbits so any help would be appreciated. Thanks

If you plan to breed a pedigree is going to be helpful to know what is "behind" your rabbit. It can be helpful to choose who you are going to pair your bunny with so that you can find another rabbit that will compliment colors and weights in each of their breeding histories.

It can also make it easier to sell the rabbit if you ever decide for whatever reason you cant keep it. If you dont get the pedigree now chances are most breeders terminate the rights to ever getting one so in the future. If you ever happen to need to sell the bunny you would be looking for a pet home. With a pedigree other people that show and breed may be interested and depending how much you pay either way it is usually easier to get your full buying price back with the pedigree.

But having said all that pedigrees arent required for anything and if its just a pet there is no real reason you need a pedigree.

Last edited:
As a breeder, I think it's ridiculous and unethical to charge more for papers. All of my rabbits go with their pedigree-even the one I gave to my friend as a pet. A pedigree costs the breeder NOTHING, and lacking a pedigree does nothing to prevent the new owner from showing or breeding.

If you DO plan to show or breed, I do recommend getting the pedigree, otherwise you'll probably never need it. But I'd be leery of dealing with someone charging extra for papers.