Backwashing the Pool and Chickens

Demosthine

Songster
7 Years
Jun 26, 2012
Phoenix, Arizona
Hello everyone.

I have a regular 10,000 gallon pool that needs backwashed occasionally, about once a month. Instead of having it dump in to my sewer drain, I want to start flood irrigating my backyard with it. Would the yard still be ok with it or would that be too much chlorine for the girls? I'm thinking it would be ok, since the city adds chlorine to the water supply anyway. I'm wondering how much different the levels are. Would the differences in pH or anything hurt them? I hear the grey water is absolutely awesome for gardens and lawns, but I'm new to this whole chicken thing.

Thanks in advance.

By backwashing, do you mean when you clean the filter and all the chemicals come out? The earth, the chlorine, ph additives etc? I'm not sure, but I don't think that's considered grey water. Too much chemical.

I do know one thing for sure....the diatemaceous earth you put in the pool is not the same DE as we use on the chickens. Use a food grade DE for all living things. I would worry about the chickens getting into the pool DE. You wouldn't want to make them sick.

Yes, basically I mean flushing out the filter. Instead of pumping the water through the filter and back in to the pool, it pumps the water and what contaminants that the filter previously caught out in to the drain. That drain currently goes in to the sewer pipe, but I'd rather irrigate the yard.