best inexpensive incuabator vs homemade incubator

chicken fever

Songster
7 Years
Jan 30, 2012
dallas, tx
i am VERY new to hatching and I am looking to see what is the best most inexpensive incubator? I do like the ones with fans and auto-turners. found one with a plastic liner to make easy cleaning as well. What are ya'll experiences with what incubators work best? Pros and cons of different ones as well.

just a hobby breeder :)

Welcome to the forum!!!
frow.gif

I too am new to incubating. I got a Little Giant on e bay. It came with an egg turner, digital thermom/hyg. and a light to candle with. Oh and it has a fan. I finally got it stabilized.

I hope you find this place as informative as I have. The folks here are VERY kind.

If you are iffy about making an incubator, "Don't Do It." I didn't have experience with making incubators, but I decided I wanted to make a cooler incubator, and it has taken me a year to get it where I want it. (It didn't take me a year to build it). I just mean that it's been a year since I have decided to make my last updates, and remodeling to it. I am VERY happy with it now.

I have a page on my Cooler incubator if you would like to see it.

In the process of learning how to build this incubator I looked EVERYWHERE for instructions, wiring diagrams and other things to make my cooler bator a successful incubator.

If you don't have the drive to want to do this, just buy an incubator. I am saying this, because people think making the incubator will be fast, and cheap.

I enjoy helping people specifically with homemade incubators, but some people don't like to help themselves.

If you are all in with making a home made incubator get back with me, (a PM will do fine)

If you are on the fence, with the homemade incubator idea, then I recommend to buy the new 2012 Circulated Air DIGITAL Genesis Hovabator, with the egg turner.