Chick’s eye is healing shut!

RooFernando

Hatching
Jun 17, 2020
Hello all!

I am a newbie chicken owner and one of my 6 week old chicks is having an eye problem. She got a horrible eye infection that I fought with for several weeks. Now that the eyes are doing better, I noticed that one of them seems to be healing up too well! The eye slit has gotten so small I can barely see her eyeball. I cleaned it regularly, added antibiotic drops, and Vaseline as it healed. I thought the Vaseline would help it stay open, but I guess not. What should I do now? I can tell that she can still see out of both eyes; they are not damaged. I would hate for her to ‘lose’ a good eye just bc the eyelid healed shut! Any ideas would be helpful! Thanks!

Sorry for the delay! I’m attaching a picture of the chick’s eye. I had a hard time keeping her from scratching all her feathers off around her eye, too.

Attachments

• 69E16E59-117D-44C6-BFDF-5AD45B45E7A3.jpeg
    69E16E59-117D-44C6-BFDF-5AD45B45E7A3.jpeg
    64.4 KB · Views: 52
That is pus behind the eye. Chickens pus is different then ours. It is like a hard kernel and its putting pressure on the eye itself. It must be removed manually . Gloves are a must as it can be transferred to you. I hope to give you over to someone else that can instruct you on just how to do that.
@oldhenlikesdogs @casportpony

I got all of the solid pus out. I dig around in there daily and finally realized it is part of the eye socket. She lost a lot of weight when she was sick and the feathers are gone making the eye socket seem like it’s sticking out further than usual. I’ve even kind of knocked on the part that’s protruding and it has a hard sound like bone. At this point, even if it was pus I don’t know how I would get it out with the eye slit being so small. I’m just not sure how to open the slit back up for her.