Diatomaceous Earth question

DDNONIN2016

Crowing
11 Years
Jan 27, 2012
SW Ohio
I'm new to chickens and have read in previuos posts about DE dust being harmful for humans to breathe. Is it not harmful for chickens to breathe when they stir up the dust while dust-bathing ?

That depends on who you talk to. There are some here convinced it will do harm to your chickens respritory system. I have been using DE for 3 years now to help keep the poo in my coup dry. I've not noticed any ill effects. If used probperly I doubt there's any problem. My proof is in 3 years of keeping chickens and using DE. I think it's mostly opinion that it will do your chickens harm as I have never seen any hard evidence of that.

This is why I don't use DE, there is so much conflicting information about it. If you have a wood stove, the ashes make a great dust bath (and kinda makes the chickies smell like BBQ if you're into that). Or you could just let them bathe in the plain old dirt. I've read that the food grade DE is safe for human consumption, but I'm still not sure about breathing it. And I know my girls have no problem dusting themselves up and shaking themselves off right next to me. Just my 2¢. Good luck.

It not the DE, any dust is harmful to breath into your lungs. It won't affect your chickens, food grade DE has many benefits, it eliminates pests in the digestive tract, and allows more of the protein to be absorbed and utilized as well...

Quote: DE has never been PROVEN to do much besides kill insects.

There are lots of claims about what it will do, but they can never seem to verify it in controlled laboratory testing

It's basically powdered ROCK, and essentially chemically INERT

Silicosis also takes years to develop. Shouldn't be a problem for chickens. They'll die from something else before they die from that. Again any dust would be an irritant. But the quanitities need to be huge and chronically present.