Do I need to lower the coop for Silkies and Frizzles?

Napa Neophyte

In the Brooder
Jul 23, 2017
Hello All,

I am new to all of this and think I may have made a big design error. I'm planning on getting silkies and frizzle chicks in a few weeks. In working with a not so helpful person at the local HD on the cuts for the legs of my coop, I went for a much longer length. Now the opening for the ramp is 28" up from the ground. I really don't want to cut the legs down down if I can avoid it, but I also need to make sure my girls can get in and out of the coop without a major workout.

I know I'll need at least one "landing" to ease the incline. Do you believe that is enough? I was also thinking of using artificial grass on the ramps so that they can get a good grip.

I was also advised to keep the food and water outside in the run, as opposed to inside the coop, by the person that I'm getting the chicks from. I was planing on having access in both the run and the coop so that on mornings when I wanted to sleep in, they wouldn't go hungry or thirsty.

Any and all suggestions are appreciated.

WIth thanks,

Karen the Napa Neophyte

Attachments

• IMG_7015.JPG
    IMG_7015.JPG
    631.8 KB · Views: 24
Hi, welcome to BYC! :frow

28 inches shouldn't be an issue if you have a ramp. the ramp to my roost is at least 48 inches in height, but spread wide enough it isn't too steep. Seems like that fake grass might be slippery when wet? No personal experience. I would probably try grip tape. It will have poo caked on before long not matter what. Maybe put some extra grip slats, like every 3-4 inches apart.