Gander lost his mate and is now sitting on the eggs...

lorney

Hatching
7 Years
Jul 1, 2012
I'm new to poultry and planned to keep hens but about three months ago a work mate had to move house and didn't have anywhere for her (single) goose to live so we offered her a home. Because she was lonely we bought another goose to keep her company - which turned out to be a young gander. They quickly became attached and about 8 weeks ago came to live with us.Sadly my goose was killed by foxes about three weeks ago when she was out of her run. She may have wandered off feeling broody, I think. The gander was inconsolable at first and I decided that I'd get him another friend. However, there were a number of eggs left by the goose that he's been sitting on religiously. He will come out of the run and into his big pool, and graze for twenty minutes or so but then goes straight back in. His commitment to fatherhood is incredibly touching,

To be honest I don't expect them to hatch, but he won't let me anywhere near them. I figured that the best thing to do would be to leave them for the incubation period then find him a new mate but I'm a bit out of my depth here - if any did hatch, what should I do? And if they don't how should I remove them? Will he keep sitting on them for ever if I don't take them away?
idunno.gif

I suspect that a lot of ganders would sit on the nest, except the goose won't let them have a turn.

If he can get the eggs to hatch, he will be a perfect father and raise the goslings well. Both geese and ganders are devoted parents.

Oh poor guy! I have a gander that lost his mate to a goat, so I let him have all my baby geese. It gave him a new purpose, since he lost his when his mate died.
Please let him keep the babies if they hatch.

That's awesome seeing these male birds taking nesting duties. I'd let the gander to continue to sit on the eggs. If some do manage to hatch, he can raise them himself.