Getting serious about my birds -

AprilDrake

In the Brooder
Apr 26, 2017
Newcastle
Hi my name is April Drake and I've been raising hens for about 10 years. I'm not ready to get serious about my birds - I want to raise and sell Bantams and this year I have 3 d'uccle, 2 silkies and 3 frizzles I'm hoping to start with. I will be seeking lots of advice!

Also this year I'm designing and building a SERIOUS henhouse. a 6x6x6 coop with approx 16x7x4 ft run. I am digging the trench for burying the hardware cloth right now, in a few weeks I have a friend that is a contractor coming to help me build.

How do you keep a flock of mixed birds, but only breed specific ones? This is the question on my mind right now. I have a smaller coop (my old one) I'm keeping if I need period of isolating the birds, but for the most part I'm wanting them to all be together.

What are the best resources to start learning the reproductive rythms and needs of the birds? What are the best methods of incubation? How do I keep my flock from eating their own eggs? From fighting? Seeking any and all advice.

Here are a few pics of my current 13 chicks -

Hi, AprilDrake!
welcome-byc.gif
! Those are very nice pictures!

I would recommend you sort of separate them in their own coop, so they can still "interact" with each other but the roosters cannot jump on the other breeds.

For reproduction, only some breeds of chickens will sit on their eggs. Some breeds like silkies will go broody very often, while others will never go broody.

For incubation, I would recommend a Hova Bator, http://incubatorwarehouse.com/hova-bator.html or
https://www.amazon.com/GQF-1588-Genesis-Hova-Bator-Incubator/dp/B001O4L9LK

Wen buying an incubator, you should buy a forced air incubator, or buy a fan kit. This will increase hatch rate. Also, if your incubator does not come with an egg turner, consider buying one.

The chickens do not often eat their own eggs, but if you want to help prevent it, you should: