Hatching Problem (Update)

marie_martin

Songster
12 Years
Feb 21, 2007
Grenada, MS
I have one egg that has pipped and opened a hole on the end of the shell large enough for me to see the whole beak and some of the area around it. It looks like the clear membrane is completely stuck to the chick. My humidity has always been pretty good, even high at times. Should I worry? He has made no progress since last night and I can't even see his/her eyes yet. The only part through the membrane is the beak. This is my first time hatching, obviously. I don't want to intervene, (well I really do) but I don't want to do the wrong thing. I had to come to work, so I am so worried. Should I have done something? I may go home in a little while and see what is going on if I get time. Darn it, I hope it is ok. I only have 9 in there and I think I saw another one move. I am so excited.

Thanks for any advice.

Marie

Last edited:
Here's a rule of thumb I use, although I am leaning more and more to "not helping" at all because the outcome is just so iffy.

No helping until the hatch is complete. Then review eggs and determine if anyone is stuck.

By opening the bator before the hatch is in full progression only decreases the chance for the others. Too much risk in my opinion. I would wait. Don't put the rest of your potential babies at risk for just one. Opening the incubator changes the environment in there that they need to be stable and hatch successfully. It's important to remember that those who do not complete hatch on their own are likely to be less thrifty or possibly have defects - so please don't feel bad for making that chick wait or possibly perish to allow the healthy ones to hatch on their own. Keeping my fingers crossed that you go home to hatchlings.

Jody

Thanks, this is so hard. I guess it is better that I am at work, so I am not more tempted to help. Thanks. I will let you know how things turn out.

Marie

I wanted to add: