Help with swollen turkey face.

yoopergirl1211

Crowing
5 Years
Dec 12, 2016
Erie PA
Hey all. I'm new to turkeys and have a problem I'm not sure what to do with. I have a 7 week old Royal palm male? Turkey with a swollen side of his face under eye.
20170817_094553.jpg
20170817_094558.jpg
20170817_114130.jpg
the pictures are from this morning before and after cleaning him up. Here is all the info I have
-Been swollen for about 8 to 10 days
-Wasn't bad at first and actually went down and then back up
-Free range 7 week old male
-vet rx every day
-rinsing with saline every day
-just put terramycin on it this morning
-nothing stuck in roof of mouth that I can see
-if I push on it clear liquid will leach from his eye
-eating, drinking, energy levels normal. Has a bit of an attitude but not sure if it relates to his face or is just his personality.
-same size as the other boy his age/breed.

I'm at a loss. As I said I'm new to turkeys and not sure if theres an obvious thing I'm missing so please feel free to point it out if there is. Thank you in advance!

I haven't dealt with this exact thing before, but do you have colloidal silver? I usually use it on any facial swelling/injuries on my chickens or turkeys. It works wonders.

You just pour a little on a Q-tip or a cotton swab, and dab it on his face. You have to apply multiple times per day for it to work.

It looks like a sinus infection from MG or mycoplasma gallisepticum. It can be more severe in turkeys than in chickens. Air sacculitis can be a secondary infection that is very serious. Make sure that he is drinking plenty of the medicated water, since sick birds usually don't drink well. Feed stores sell Tylan 50 or 200 injectable in the cattle section, and is also used for MG. How much does he weigh now? Tylan 50 dosage is 0.2 ml per pound of weight given orally or by injection twice daily for 5 days to treat MG. Tylan 200 4 times as strong as 50, so you would only give 1/4 as much.