Hens turned out to be roosters.. now what?

Mandie

In the Brooder
7 Years
Aug 20, 2012
I got six Rhode Island Red chicks the first week of April, and have since added an adult barred rock rooster to the flock.
The Chicks were supposed to be sexed, and "guaranteed" to be female. It has come to my attention ( perhaps a little later than it should have.. but hey I'm new at this! ) that four of them are not female at all.
Now I have an adult rooster, two females and four very aggressive males. ( Pullets? Cockerels? Forgive my inexperienced lingo )
I have read articles about roosters growing up together staying peaceful as they grow, but won't the adult rooster have a problem with these guys as they reach a certain age? Not to mention obviously my Rooster to Hen ratio is all wrong.. but I'm sort of at a loss of what is the best way to proceed from here. What would you do?

Are you positive they are roosters? Depending on how much space you have that many roosters in a small area could be a problem. If you don't want them put an ad on craigslist in the farm and garden section

welcome-byc.gif
from Ohio!

Could you go back to the "guarantor" to replace the cockerels with pullets? Four out of six is a really lousy percentage. One male may slip through, but not 4 of 6.

Can you post pictures for some verification?

I'm NOT positive at all! It never occurred to me that they would be anything but what was promised. That is until they starting becoming very aggressive and i started noticing a difference in their combs and wattles. I will try to take some pictures of them as soon as they return to the coop tonight. They free range during the day. Also maybe I should mention there haven't been any eggs yet, although I'm not sure if they are still too young for that or not. They stay in a fairly small coop, since there are only 7 total I thought that would be best for keeping warmer in the winter.