Aaron nassery

Songster
Jan 14, 2021
Hey guys, I just found this great forum and had to sign up immediately. I am currently trying to hatch some eggs with absolutely no luck. I’ve done pigeons before. We own a lot of pigeons but chickens isn’t as easy as I thought it would be. The pigeons weren’t very easy either! So I had built my own incubator and I have a thermostat to control the temperature but I am starting to get very discouraged. I don’t have any places near me to buy eggs and I figure I’d go to Trader Joe’s and try them for fun to see what happens. They say “Fertile” on the carton but I wasn’t expecting much. I’ve seen lots of videos of people hatching eggs from there. So since I’m very new to the chicken game, if you guys can give me as much information as you can give me because the internet seems to contradict itself on every other website. I needed some information on what would be the best temperature, what I should change or fix, any information that can be provided would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for reading this and taking time to help me out if you do! Looking forward to hear back from many of you. Have a wonderful day!!!!
Ps: I will leave pictures below so you guys can see my terrible homemade incubator and it’s set up. The thermometers are inaccurate on the inside but I’m just using them to read the humidity.

Aaron N.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    378.7 KB · Views: 14
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    424.8 KB · Views: 6
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    420.6 KB · Views: 6
I raise quail myself. So am not sure the difference between egg hatching, as I know a few do hatch them together. First, what are you using to regulate the temp. Inside the incubator? Do you have a dependable thermometer to check the inside temp for accuracy. I use a couple "scientific" thermometers to set my incubator with. I use the temp at 99.5F and the humitity @ 35% until lockdown.