Irritated, think new chicken has IB *Update*

Queen of the Lilliputians

Songster
12 Years
Apr 5, 2007
Maine
So irritated today, and think I have decided not to purchase any more adult chickens!! ARG! Thank goodness I listen to you guys, and have my new chickens seperated from the flock. Partly this is my fault, I guess, but I'm still a newbie when it comes to many things.

Bought my new chickens yesterday. The cock is about 5mos, the pullet is about 4. The lady I purchased from said the pullet had sneezed so she had given it a pill (?). I didn't hear any sneezing while I was there. This is a breeder, and there were 74chickens there, most in cages, a few free ranging. All looked clean and healthy, though.

Anyway, last night I noticed the pullet kept closing one eye, but I attributed it to maybe a scratch in the whole moving process. Due to a lot of feathers around her face, I thought one might also be rubbing her. It is not red or swollen.

This morning I noticed she was breathing a bit with her mouth opened, although I don't see any nasal discharge. Some sneezing (but not really much), and the eye thing. I put both pullet & cock out in the chicken teepee today, and put the cat carrier they slept in out there. The pullet came out for some treats, but other than that spent nearly 5hrs in the carrier. The cock originally was walking around, eating/drinking/crowing, but I think he was beginning to get worried, too, since he stationed himself at the carrier door.
I brought both in at 2pm, since they can't stand being seperated, and I wanted to see how the cock is. He's fine, maybe a tiny bit of sneezing. He kept crowing, and walking around. I let him go back outside after a 1/2hr observation. The pullet I've kept inside. She is finally eating and drinking some, and looks bright eyed, but seems kind of low energy.

I did some searching on BYC, and looked at Speckled Hen's great link (thanks Cyn!). Sounds like it might be infectious bronchitis to me?