Mandarin Incubation Thread

1lpoock

Spruce Creek Waterfowl
10 Years
Apr 20, 2009
Sandusky, Ohio
My mandarin hen started laying almost a month ago. By now, she has six eggs and she hasn't started sitting. The first one she layed is probably almost a month old so I thought I will just incubate them myself. One has an indent in it, it looks like she poked it with her beak, I hope it is still okay. Anyway, I am using a hovabator genesis, hand turning 3-5 times a day, 99.5 degrees fahrenheit, 65% humidity for the first 26 days, 75-80% the last three. Does this all sound okay, any tips? This is my first time incubating mandarin eggs, I'll keep this post updated with pictures!

Quote:
Sounds perfect, but unfortunately like what Scott was getting at, they are probably done for by now, 2 weeks would be max, but set them to be sure.
Small cracks can still hatch if the membrane wasnt ruptured, a dab of finger nail polish helps seal them to prevent bacteria getting in.
Hope the hatch for you!

Well I have a total of six eggs. Most of them were laid fairly recently. Maybe two are about 3 weeks old. I figure why throw them away when I could try and incubate all of them, you never know, they could develop. If they don't, then I'll pitch them when I candle.

Okay here are the candling pictures right before I put them in the incubator. Obviously, the eggs haven't been incubated yet by the mandarin hen. Hopefully some will develop! Also, should I cool and mist or is that not needed?

P.S. The little ring you see in some of the pictures is what I drew on with pencil to correctly turn the eggs.

#1 (the one with the crack)
1-3.jpg

2-3.jpg

3-3.jpg

4-3.jpg

5-2.jpg

6-2.jpg