New to raising Bantams - Any words of wisdom?

Amy in Florida

In the Brooder
10 Years
Apr 22, 2009
Myakka City, FL - Manatee Co.
Hi,

I have 10 standard size chicks of various ages up to 8 weeks, so I'm new to this. Next week I have 6 bantams coming: 2 blue silkies, 1 buff brahma, 1 white leghorn, 1 sebright, and 1 black tailed buff Japanese. There will also be 1 standard size BO and 1 standard RIR. I've ordered pullets. Is there anything I should know that will be different with raising the bantams? How about raising them with a larger breed like a BO?

I have lost 2 chicks to cocci, I think it was because I exposed them to older chicks too soon, and I didn't realize the chick/grower feed from TSC wasn't medicated. We now have medicated feed and I plan to wait several weeks before exposing them to the next to the youngest group.

Any words of wisdom?

Thanks,

Amy

As far as chicks are concerned, I don't think they are any different than full-sized chicks. I've got both banty chicks and full-sized chicks and treat them both the same. The banty chicks basically rule the roost. My BTW Japanese banties are the sweetest babies and the sebrights are real flyers. Good luck!

Hi Amy,

i have standards and bantams. i house them separately. Although many folks keep their flocks together without a problem. One thing to be aware of is which breed likes to roost at night and the ones that like to huddle on the floor. Silkies can't fly so they will be sleeping on the floor, unless you have a ramp for them to get to a higher spot. If you house the silkies in with other birds perching above them, they will come out in the morning covered in poop.
sickbyc.gif

Other than that, you need to consider that silkie skulls are not completely enclosed, so a peck on the head from a larger, taller bird can kill them (or even a hop and slam into something low hanging).