Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Possibly

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Ashley135

Hatching
Dec 24, 2017
Hi everyone!
I'm new to the page because I'm seeking some advice about the breeding of my mini rex doe.
I'm new to breeding my pedigree show rabbits and I'm hoping someone could give me some hope for this pregnancy! My doe was breed 28 days ago with 2 "fall off's" from my buck. I put her nesting box into the cage this afternoon but I dont see any changes in my rabbits appearance. I tried to palpate her but being that this is my first time breeding I couldn't find anything that was different... Her fur on her hind legs is a little loose, like 5 or 6 little "tuffs" of fur popping out that can just be brushed away, is this maybe a sign that she has the extra fur to line the nest box? My heart will be so broken if this turns out to be a dud breeding...

It's been years since I raised/bred rabbits but from what I can remember ...

What did you put in the nest box? Don't use shredded paper unless it's a "micro" cut, kits can get tangled/strangled in the strips. Shavings is good. Can't recall what gestation is, thinking 28 - 32 days. She will pull fur from herself to line the nest. IF she's pregnant, she should be looking "bigger". A "fall off" does not mean pregnancy, sorry. They also do suffer "false" pregnancy.

Palpating is easy but this late in the game, I really wouldn't advise it. Instead you could try laying her on her back & see if you see movement or take her to a Vet & have him show you how to palpate ... Hold her facing you with an arm place it between her front legs lifting her hind up in the air, with your fingers feel along the sides of the abdomen for what will feel like marbles.

I put a an inch and a half of pine shavings and stuffed it with wheat straw, made a little dip in it for her to get started if she was going to build a nest, then put a little pile of the straw in the corner of the cage.