QUESTIONS on resting and brining after butchering

honeydoll

Songster
10 Years
Jul 14, 2009
Stark County, NE Ohio
I was wondering what you all do after the butchering. I let my last roo rest in ice cold salt water for two days and then in buttermilk overnight before I cooked him and some parts of the legs were still rubbery. So I'm sure I am making a mistake as I am still new to processing. Not sure what it could be. I would like a step by step of how long you rest the bird, and if you brine. THe roo I processed was a barred rock, 6 mos. old. I am getting ready to process 8 dominiques and want to get this right. I would like to try brining a chicken, and would love any recipes for brining a chicken. I need to know do you brine right before you cook or before you freeze? SORRY so many questions, like I said I am still new to this and tweaking my methods. I am a little frustrated over getting a rubbery result on our last butching, as a side note only the legs (my kids' favorite part) were rubbery. SO PLEASE HELP this novice become a pro. My family will thank you too!! So I need to know best time to let it rest, should it rest in ice water or salt water, then brine or just set in the fridge. UGH!! SOmebody straighten me out.

Maybe the roos was too old?
I do the cornish and after processing I let them sit in the frig for a couple of days and then freeze them.
The first ones I cooked I did side by side comparison with the brining.
They were all tender and delicious, the only difference was the one that I didn't brine had the meat just falling off the bone so I haven't brined any since.