Share your Sebastopol Goose or Royal Palm Turkey experience with Chickens/Roo's...Good Peacekeepers?

Liz Birdlover

Crossing the Road
6 Years
Jan 6, 2018
Delaware, USA
I've heard from a few people that Sebastopols are sweet natured, congenial geese that have not only gotten along with chickens, but that they actually intervened with the occasional Rooster squabbles, keeping peace in the barnyard.

Can anyone please share their experience with this scenario? I want to do as much research as possible, ahead of time. I just fell in love with a Sebastopol Goose last Spring, he was so sweet and loving, I have wanted to add 1 or 2 to my flock ever since.

Also, friends had a Royal Palm turkey male, calmly strutting around the yard, that seemed to get along with the ducks, geese, chickens, etc. Is this typical? I thought turkeys might become aggressive, but I have no experience with turkeys.

If anyone can share any info on experience with these birds, it would be greatly appreciated.
I currently have 14 chickens, 3 of them are Roo's, 1 Bar Rock Roo, 2 Ameracauna Roo's, 1 Bar Rock hen, 1 Red Star hen, 9 Ameracauna hens. I have separate pens (next to eacho ther) and coops for the Ameracaunas, but in the Spring I am hoping to let everyone free range together. My Bar Rock Roo can be a tough guy at times. I've heard a goose or turkey will not permit Rooster fights...they are peacekeepers of the barnyard...is that true?

Would adding a few Sebastopols be a good idea if I raise them?
Is adding a Royal Palm expecting too much - should I just focus on geese?

I would offer separate coops for all, with separated protected pens for privacy and safety from predators when I am not home, plus geese would have a kiddie pool of water, but it would be nice to have their doors open for free ranging together when I am outside gardening, too.

Thank you!