Sheep help needed - Update

snugglepup

Songster
12 Years
Apr 15, 2007
Creedmoor, NC
Hi,

I am new to sheep ownership, and last night/this morning sometime one or several of our sheep broke into the barn, smashed open a rubbermaid tote and ate a bunch of the chicken food in it. So far they seem fine. What to watch for? What to do?

Thanks!

Last edited:
Ok, thanks, that makes me feel a little better. I've been freaking out completely. Of course, we are supposed to be at a wedding... like now. *sigh*

They will have bloated already if it were going to hurt them. You would look for the rumen on their left side to expand like a giant balloon. They'd lay down and eventually die if you didn't intervene.

Thanks guys.

It is now 12-24 hrs after the "indiscretion" and everyone is still alive. Three of them have had some diarrhea, but are running around eating, drinking and doing sheep stuff. I locked them in my least grassy pasture, and threw them some hay... but they weren't interested in it. Too much grass around. They all baaaahed and came running up at dinner time, when they usually get a handful of sheep pellets, but were very disappointed to get hay instead.

So hopefully we're out of the woods? I've felt horribly guilty all day, I had no idea they'd smash up a plastic bin like that to get the food or I would never have left them in the barnyard to weedwhack overnight.

Ok, it is the next morning. All of them seem pretty normal, some soft stools and poopy butts... but eating and doing sheep stuff. BUT one wether is acting depressed and not eating. He is still walking around and interacting, but is not himself... and not interested in food. ACK!

I looked in my sheep book and I am concerned about "acidosis" The recommended treatment is to give sodium bicarb in water and pour it in his mouth? Is this right? Has anyone dealt with this before?

Thanks!