Trying to determine if Silkie is sick or broody. Please advise.

happy-bird

In the Brooder
5 Years
Nov 14, 2014
Northern Virginia
Hi! I am new to chicken keeping and have had my bunch for about three months. Today, I have encountered our first medical issue (other than basic wound care).

One black Silkie hen, Sirius, would not stand up today when I opened the coop to let everyone out. She can stand but will not walk. If she was sitting on one of the nests, I would assume broody, but she was sitting in the middle of the floor by the hanging feeder. I set up a large cat crate with straw, food and water (with a capful of Pedialyte) and brought her inside for observation.

After some research, this is what I have observed and done:

Gently palpated around and behind her vent to see if she is egg bound. I didn't feel an egg, but I have never done this before. She did have a poop stuck in her feathers, probably from sitting while pooping, but it looked healthy brown and solid, no green or yellow. I carefully trimmed it off.

Checked her feet- they look good, no wounds, frostbite or curled toes

Checked her eyes- her left eye looks a little cloudy. The third eyelid was up, so the cloudy bit might just be film. I couldn't tell if her pupils were reactive to light because her eyes are so dark. Her pupils did not appear to be oddly shaped, as far as I could see. I'm going to flush her eye when I locate our bottle of plain saline solution.

She seems to be in good spirits, quietly clucking at me and receptive to attention. She is a very sweet, snuggly girl and seemed pleased to be in my lap for her exam. Also, when I held her water dish up to her while she was on my lap, she immediately dipped in for a drink. Same with the food dish, but I don't think she actually ate anything.