What breed of ducklings?

floridasummer

Songster
7 Years
Apr 11, 2016
Melbourne FL
I bought some ducklings from tsc and I thought they only sold pekins but I am not sure if these are pekins or runners or what. Any help is appreciated.

I have ducklings what look the exact same, mine are Aylesbury ducklings so this is making me wonder if we both have the Pekins or aylesburys
1f635.png

It's definitely possible. You can't really tell but mine have pink beaks and orangey feet. They also have brown on their heads and I saw baby fawn & white runners that have that, so it makes me think they won't be all white. Where did you get yours from

I am fairly new to ducklings, but I got mine from TSC too. I know they say they only carry certain breeds, but I have learned through browsing the forum here and from the mix of various breeds I got from there, that they really do not know what they have most of the time and they will tell you the ducklings they have are Rouens when they are Mallards and Pekins when really they can be runners or welsh Harlequins etc. I did happen to get a Pekin when I got my group of five ducklings and just from that experience, I can say those ducklings have a deeper yellow to tan coloring whereas, my Pekin was a unified yellow all over. My guess is more likely runner based on what I have seen in the forums but that is just a guess. I just think that the last person you should listen to is the TSC employees. I am sure there will be some more experienced duck people on here that can tell you more concretely but here is a pick of my pekin for comparison. I also think yours stand taller and look more slender in body shape. Han (my pekin) never stood up like yours are doing now.

Last edited:
Well they waddle a lot when running but otherwise they do like to stand up and look at everything. Your ducks are cute though!