What to feed my Flock

featherfella

Chirping
Apr 24, 2016
Hi there,

I have been raising chickens for roughly about 2 years now. However, during this period of 2 years, i have found it incredibly hard to find treats and scraps that my chickens actually like. As of right now, my flock loves warm oats, natural greek yogurt, veggies (lettuce), and i occasionally give them a small amount of cheese. But, i would like to know what you feed your chickens?

Breeder pellets (18% protein), a handful of 5-grain scratch each day, a handful of dried mealworms each day during molt, the occasional kitchen scraps (mostly vegetable matter), and whatever they might eat when I let them loose in the yard, which is rare these days.

Except for what I've listed and the occasional cabbage or winter squash, I've never bought "human food" with the intent to give it to the chickens. They may get leftovers, uneaten bits, or stuff on the verge of spoiling but I never prepare stuff just for them. I sprouted BOSS for them once and in winter I sometimes make a warm mash from their pellets. That's about it.

Breeder pellets (18% protein), a handful of 5-grain scratch each day, a handful of dried mealworms each day during molt, the occasional kitchen scraps (mostly vegetable matter), and whatever they might eat when I let them loose in the yard, which is rare these days.

Except for what I've listed and the occasional cabbage or winter squash, I've never bought "human food" with the intent to give it to the chickens. They may get leftovers, uneaten bits, or stuff on the verge of spoiling but I never prepare stuff just for them. I sprouted BOSS for them once and in winter I sometimes make a warm mash from their pellets. That's about it.
Thanks for your reply

I keep it to a point simple and I don't feed a lot of "treats" for a number of reasons but mostly because I feed a very good feed and don't want to through there nutritional intake off.

What I feed to birds is this;