Duck egg day 25 external pip then 26 hours later with nothing..?

Kristen L

In the Brooder
May 3, 2020
Hello,
I have a swedish egg that externally pipped yesterday at around 10am. As of last night there was another small one next to the first pip. Then early this morning a third. I assume this is zipping? But, nothing since, and I don't hear any chirps. Is this normal? These pips are averaging 8-12 hours between pips. This is my first hatch. Total newby here. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Ducks seem to take forever to hatch. Mine always seem to wait at least 24 hours from pip to zip. I try not to worry unless 48 hours has gone by. If your pip was on day 25 I wouldn't worry. Your baby is probably still waiting for the blood vessels to shrink and resting up for the big hatch. :fl Hang in there!

Ducks seem to take forever to hatch. Mine always seem to wait at least 24 hours from pip to zip. I try not to worry unless 48 hours has gone by. If your pip was on day 25 I wouldn't worry. Your baby is probably still waiting for the blood vessels to shrink and resting up for the big hatch. :fl Hang in there!

Thank you so much for your reply. It so exciting and stressful! All this care and love in hand turning eggs for almost a month. You just want them out safe and healthy. I hope I get to see their fuzzy butts soon.

Your baby is getting oxygen so it should be fine. If it gets to 48 hours after the first external pip I'd take a closer look. Does the membrane still look white?

You could shine a torch at the egg and see if it wriggles. Our duck eggs did that so that was an easy way to reassure ourselves that they were still ok. For some reason light seems to stimulate them to hatch - I've read other members say the same thing. I had one start to unzip one evening but it waited until it was light the next morning to actually finish the job and hatch.