Possums

cheepchicks

Songster
12 Years
May 6, 2007
Indiana
I have had more trouble out of possums. The possum chewed a hole through my barn wall and ate one of my silky hens. I fixed the hole only to have it come back and eat another hen. Before I could get that hole fixed it came back again and ate the last hen. My poor rooster was in the barn with the hen and I came to save it and the darned thing was in there eating the last hen and my rooster was cowering in a corner. I never even knew a possum would eat my chickens. Well my cousin was with me and I had a floodlight in my hand. I froze the possum with the light and he grabbed an ax.....the possum is gone now and I never even felt a moment's guilt for killing it. So this got me started on buying more chicks.....still don't know what MM sent me as I am a novice. So I have 25 chicks that are now 10 weeks old (one is beginning to crow already) well maybe that is a stretch it makes some weird noise that sounds like metal grinding on metal. Anyway I also went to a local auction last friday and bought 5 royal palm turkey babies and 4 more silky chicks. So far no trouble with possums but one has been on my front porch lately and is looking to go the way of its cousin. Hopefully not so violently this time ! I forgot to mention I work 12 hour shifts and on this particular day had actually worked 24 hours before I could get to the barn to save my poor chickens. Y'all reckon I might be hooked?

I would invest in a trap and set it up near your barn. I keep two set and baited in two places. I use a exlarge garbage can filled with water and when I catch one I send it swimming cage & all. I have lost many a chicken before I got my traps. I catch about 6 possums and 8 r 9 raccoons a year. We caught a young male raccoon about a month ago. Florida has problems with them having rabies and its against the law to let them back loose.