Baby chick can't lift his head

Lacrystol

Hatching Helper
14 Years
Jun 13, 2009
Diamond, Ohio
I have a baby chick that just hatched and he keeps holding his head to the ground, he's not standing just keeps falling over... he's not has noisy as the other 4 chicks. What can I do for him?

Sometimes a chick needs a little longer to get up and going. If it just hatched, leave it in the incubator and keep an eye on it for a while. If it doesn't improve, you can try some sugar water to give it a boost.

Edited to add: Make sure it is not getting trampled by other chicks.

Last edited:
Try putting drops of slightly warmed sugar water on its beak (not near the nostrils). You can offer a little bit of scrambled egg yolk but it may be too soon for it to eat. Poly-vi-sol baby vitamins are also offered to chicks with failure to thrive and work well.

Start with sugar water. I am far from an expert on this so searching "weak baby chick" will pull up more info.

Sometimes treatment works and sometimes it doesn't. So be prepared for the worse. I will be hoping for the best.
fl.gif

i have him cupped in my hand holding his head up, i gave him some sugar water im holding him up so he doesnt gasp and the water goes down smoothly. i noticed his eyes r not opening

Quote:
I'm thinking my baby chick has wry neck, what do you give baby chicks for this and how much? The only thing I have in my house right now is Fish oil, should I give him some. The pharmacy here doesn't open up for another 3 hours, Does anyone have any advice and what I should do in the mean time? His by himself, it's hard to look at him because he just looks like hes struggling soo hard. He is also a Buff Silkie, if that matters at all. Please someone help me, this is my first Buff Silkie since the raccoons got my girl 2 years ago..